In our continued effort to support the next generation of great writers, Inprint awarded 10 prizes this spring totaling $48,500 – ranging from $1,000 – $10,000 – to students studying creative writing in Houston. On Sunday, June 13, 2021, we gathered virtually to enjoy a reading by these talented emerging writers. After brief remarks from Inprint Executive Director Rich Levy, each student gave a short reading from their work. To enjoy other Inprint Archived Readings click here.

The 2021 Inprint Prize Winners include:

Despy Boutris, Inprint Donald Barthelme Prize in Poetry
Sonia Hamer, Inprint Donald Barthelme Prize in Fiction
Niki Herd, Inprint Donald Barthelme Prize in Nonfiction
Katie Edkins Milligan, Inprint Donald Barthelme Prize in Fiction
Blaine Prescott, Inprint Joan and Stanford Alexander Prize in Fiction
Paige Quiñones, Inprint Paul Verlaine Prize in Poetry
Nick Rattner, Inprint Marion Barthelme Gulf Coast Prize
Brendan Stephens, Inprint Marion Barthelme Prize in Creative Writing
Stalina Emmanuelle Villarreal, Inprint Donald Barthelme Prize in Poetry

Special thanks to Joan and Stanford Alexander, The Friends of Marion Barthelme, Nina and Michael Zilkha, and the Inprint Board of Directors, who make these prizes possible. Inprint also receives support from The Jerry C. Dearing Family Foundation, Houston Endowment, The City of Houston through the Houston Arts Alliance, and the Texas Commission on the Arts.